Director’s Message

Photo of Robert Baldwin Welcome to the 40th Anniversary Season of the Salt Lake Symphony! I’m sure that when the group of musicians first formed the ensemble, then called the Salt Lake Repertory Orchestra, they never dreamed of the lasting institution they were founding! But perhaps they were! You never know what will happen when musicians get together. After four decades, little has changed in that regard. The 2015-2016 season is a fantastic realization of 40 years of community music making. Highlights include Stravisky’s Rite of Spring, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique) and Strauss’s Death and Transfiguration. Those are all pieces regularly seen on the professional stage. Our orchestra, community in strength, volunteer in spririt and professional in quality excels at presenting the finest in orchestral repertoire. There is music for all tastes, Bach, Beethoven, Faure, Dvorak and more! And we continue our long-standing tradition of commitment to regional performers and composers with a world premiere of the Brahma Viharas by Salt Lake composer, Phillip Bimstein and the Yellowstone Concerto by Wyoming resident Jett Hitt. Soloists for the season include some of our own orchestra members and local talent of all ages from our Utah community. It is sure to be a banner year. Please join us as we close our fourth decade and plan to launch the next era of musical excellence!

Robert Baldwin

Next Performance

Primal Energy!
Saturday March 19, 2016 7:30 pm

Libby Gardner Hall
Hasse Borup, violin
High school musicians, side-by-side

Dvořák Slavonic Dances #1, 2, and 7
Jett Hitt Yellowstone for Violin and Orchestra
(Utah Premiere)
Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Few pieces have the primal energy as Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. This year marks a first for the Salt Lake Symphony, our initial performance of this monumental work. Originally intended for ballet when composed in 1913, the piece has become a staple in the concert hall as the quintessential work of the early 20th century. With its driving rhythms and eerie sounds, it’s a piece that creates a lasting memory for performers and audiences alike. It’s not the only legacy we will celebrate at this concert, though. We will open the concert with our annual side-by-side performance, featuring talented young musicians sitting alongside our musicians. After their rousing opening of Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances, we will perform the Utah premiere of Jett Hitt’s Yellowstone Concerto, with Dr. Hasse Borup playing the solo violin part. Join us for and evening of music and musicians filled with energy and excitiement. This is an event not to be missed!

Tickets $10 adults, $5 students and seniors.
Available by calling 801-531-7501 or at the door with cash, check or credit card.

Be sure to attend the free pre-concert lecture by Dr. Baldwin, discussing the culture behind the music, at 6:15 p.m. in Room 270, right behind the concert hall.


Salt Lake County Zoo, Arts and Parks logo Utah Arts Council logo Xmission phone: 801-539-0852 email: George & Dolores Eccles Foundation logo
Marriner S Eccles
Salt Lake Arts Council logo
Salt Lake Symphony thanks the voters of Salt Lake County for their support of the Zoo, Arts & Parks program, the Utah Arts Council, and Xmission, L.L.C. for its donation of Internet services.
See other ZAP-sponsored events at Now Playing Utah.