Director’s Message

Photo of Robert Baldwin

A season of return awaits! It feels great to be back. The 2022-2023 SLS season promises to be our first full season in three years! With pandemic protocols hopefully in our rear-view mirror, we are planning for a journey through some of the finest repertoire in the orchestral canon. If you’ve missed the big works by composers such as Richard Strauss, Shostakovich, Sibelius, Holst, and Brahms – we’ve got it covered. We also are returning to our established choral, concerto, and opera collaborations, with our friends at the Utah Voices and the University of Utah. Thrilling soloists also are back, including some from the ranks of our orchestra. The Vienna Ball also returns in February, a much-anticipated return by ballroom dancers and waltz lovers from across the region. We look forward to seeing you back in the audience as well, as we return to our roots ­– the inspiration that let to the group’s founding in 1976 – playing the great orchestral repertoire. You’ll find us performing in various places this season—from the new Mid Valley Arts Center, to the Grand Theater, to Libby Gardner Concert Hall. We are honored to truly be Salt Lake’s Symphony, bringing you great music since 1976.

See you at the concert!


Robert Baldwin

Photo credit: Sally Horowitz

To see what musicians of the SLS have been creating lately, visit our YouTube channel.

Next Performance

Season Opener
Saturday September 24, 2022 7:30 pm

Midvalley Arts Center
Matthew Makeever, Robert Baldwin, conductors
Hilary Coon, oboe

Sibelius Symphony #7
(in C major, op. 105)
Alessandro Marcello Oboe Concerto in C minor
Shostakovich Symphony #9
(in E-flat major, op. 70)

We open the 22-23 Season with two rarely heard, but engaging symphonies. Sibelius’s 7th is his final symphony, a study in compact form, almost as if the entire Romantic period has collapsed on itself like a dying star. Lasting merely 20 minutes, this symphony nonetheless has 4 encapsulated movements and enough emotional sweep to take the audience on a memorable journey through the Finnish imagination. When the work was written in 1924, it was a surprise to audiences both in its brevity and depth. Similarly, Shostakovich’s 9th Symphony, written in 1945, was expected to be a grand testament of victory. What Shostakovich gave us, however, was one of his shortest symphonies, albeit a 5-movement work that expresses the happiness of a great weight being lifted, the end of WWII. It is indeed joyous, but also contains the touch of sardonic wit expected from this master’s works. Offsetting these two brief masterpieces, principal oboist Hilary Coon moves to the front of the stage to play Marcello’s endearing oboe concerto, with one of the most beautiful melodies in all the Baroque repertoire.


Salt Lake County Zoo, Arts and Parks logo Utah Arts Council logo Xmission phone: 801-539-0852 email: George & Dolores Eccles Foundation logo
Marriner S Eccles
Salt Lake Arts Council logo
Salt Lake Symphony thanks the voters of Salt Lake County for their support of the Zoo, Arts & Parks program, the Utah Arts Council, and Xmission, L.L.C. for its donation of Internet services.
See other ZAP-sponsored events at Now Playing Utah.